That Blue Square Thing

AQA Computer Science GCSE (2022)

September 2020: This page is the for the 2022 exam version of the AQA Computer Science GCSE course. This is for Year 10 teaching in September 2020.
These pages were copied over from the old syllabus and will get updated as I work through the new one. That means they won't always be totally up to date and I might miss something - check the updated date at the bottom of the page.

This is the new AQA GCSE in Computer Science. It will be examined for the first time in 2022. If you're doing your GCSE before that, you need to look at the old section as there are some quite bit differences.

The course is: AQA GCSE Computer Science 8525

Exams and Assessment

There are two exams for this GCSE which make up all of the assessment for the course. These will take place during May or June of Year 11. Both of them are formal, written exams that you go nowhere near a computer to do.

Paper 1 - Computational thinking: 2 hour written exam worth 50% of the mark. This assesses Units 1 and 2 and focuses on programming problems.

Paper 2 - Theoretical knowledge: 1 hour 45 minute written exam worth 50% of the mark. This assesses Units 3 - 8 and focuses on theory and includes some questions requiring more extended writing.

PDF iconCourse summary slide

The Units:

Each unit has its own section on the left menu bar:

  1. Algorithms
  2. Programming - data types, operators, selection, loops etc...
  3. Data representation - including binary, characters, images and sound
  4. Computer systems - hardware and software
  5. Networks
  6. Cyber security
  7. Databases
  8. Ethical, legal and environmental issues


Pseudocode will be used in exams as not every school teaches the same programming language.

You need to be able to read the exam board style of pseudocode and understand what it means.